SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2017, 07:22 AM   #1
raymond6751
Admirable Mike
 
raymond6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,223
Downloads: 312
Uploads: 0


Default Mods on Steam Version solved

Installing mods into the steam version wasn't working for me, even following all the correct instructions and using JGSME installer.

After multiple tries to get mods working with them installed into the steam game folder, I found a simple solution. It may only be true with Win 7, but here is what I found.

Two copies of the game files were installed. One was under steam/steamapps/common/Silent Hunter 5

and

another copy was in the games folder of Ubisoft Game Launcher! That is
C:\Program Files(x86)/Ubisoft/Ubisoft Game Launcher/games/Silent Hunter 5

As soon as I put my mods folder and mods manager (JGSME) into that folder, all my mods worked fine.

Hope it helps someone else.
__________________
Sub Nut
Master of the unspoken comment.
raymond6751 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 08:18 AM   #2
Cyborg322
Scurvy Dog of the Deep
 
Cyborg322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester England
Posts: 280
Downloads: 297
Uploads: 0


Default

The first directory is the default for all Steam Games

The Second, was that installed with Uplay installing/patching the game ? Or done manually ?

Does that then allow you to startup without Steam ?
Cyborg322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 09:01 AM   #3
raymond6751
Admirable Mike
 
raymond6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,223
Downloads: 312
Uploads: 0


Default Steam installs

To answer your questions, I'm not sure. I have been playing SH5 before steam came along, and had numerous 'installs' over the years. Two years back I replaced the computer and my disk versions would not install. I bought from steam.

I read on the forum, as part of my trying to get mods to work, that Steam actually runs Ubisoft game launcher, and not SH5.exe. So I started to investigate and found the copy of the game there.

When I moved the modding to the version under Ubisoft, they worked. I haven't researched further, but I believe I will just delete the mods from the steam folder and be happy to play.

By the way, I was unable to install the game again from DVD because my CD Key was "already in use". Ubisoft support was useless. I just wanted to play, so I paid again for a Steam Version.

Experiment if you wish, I'd be interested in further information. I too will advise if I discover anything to help or discount my suggestion.
__________________
Sub Nut
Master of the unspoken comment.
raymond6751 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 10:45 AM   #4
Cyborg322
Scurvy Dog of the Deep
 
Cyborg322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester England
Posts: 280
Downloads: 297
Uploads: 0


Default

I have disc version , I was just curious your post caught my eye. You don't mention the Generic Patcher which has been the problem in the past
Cyborg322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 10:57 AM   #5
raymond6751
Admirable Mike
 
raymond6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,223
Downloads: 312
Uploads: 0


Default I like a clean game

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyborg322 View Post
I have disc version , I was just curious your post caught my eye. You don't mention the Generic Patcher which has been the problem in the past
I won't use the generic patcher or any 'mod' that changes the .exe game file. It is not worth it. A mod should work with a clean install of the actual game. Just my thoughts.
__________________
Sub Nut
Master of the unspoken comment.
raymond6751 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 11:01 AM   #6
propbeanie
CTD Überbringer
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 2,911
Downloads: 193
Uploads: 0


Default

I've got Steam SH5, never had the disk for it, and I do not have that C:\Program Files (x86) folder structure for SH5 on my Win7 64-bit computer. The Steam version can be very frustrating to work with, though doable. Ubisoft support should have been able to "kill" your old install of the disk version, so that you could re-install it. The difficult part for me when working with their "support" system is having to log-in and use their online texting utility instead of just straight email. You get a generic reply the first time, then you get another one that looks like they didn't read what you wrote, and try to point you at the FAQs section of their site, and then finally in about the 3rd or 4th try, they actually read your issue and get you going. Of course, the last time I used their "support" was over a year ago, and a lot happens at software companies in that amount of time.

I don't think I'd delete the Steam stuff, since if it is what's starting the game, it will attempt to overwrite what you have when it finds files missing...
__________________

propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 12:58 PM   #7
raymond6751
Admirable Mike
 
raymond6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,223
Downloads: 312
Uploads: 0


Default Good point

Since I don't know the origin of the Ubisoft game launcher copy of the game, I won't be deleting the steam copy. I have now transfered all the mods to the Ubisoft folder. I will delete them from the steam folder.

So far, everything is running smoothly. I launch from steam, it loads the Ubi launcher, and we are up and running.

If you just have the steam version, I'd check if you may have a Ubisoft folder with the game launcher in it. Just saying.

If your mods are working, great, no need to change things.
__________________
Sub Nut
Master of the unspoken comment.
raymond6751 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 04:00 PM   #8
vdr1981
Graue Stahlwölfe
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 4,294
Downloads: 493
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raymond6751 View Post
I won't use the generic patcher or any 'mod' that changes the .exe game file. It is not worth it. A mod should work with a clean install of the actual game. Just my thoughts.
Bad decisions I'd say since it is very well known fact that even modded SH5 but without Generic Patcher will stay pretty much broken and unplayable. My thoughts...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 05:52 PM   #9
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 7,150
Downloads: 907
Uploads: 0


Default

I totally agree with Vecko.
The Generic patcher is an essential application for SH5 as without it the game is broken and unplayable.


Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 06:53 PM   #10
raymond6751
Admirable Mike
 
raymond6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,223
Downloads: 312
Uploads: 0


Default Enough

We are all entitled to our opinions.

I choose my way. Go ahead with yours.

Best Wishes
__________________
Sub Nut
Master of the unspoken comment.
raymond6751 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 01:19 AM   #11
hauangua
Commander
 
hauangua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 444
Downloads: 949
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raymond6751 View Post
I won't use the generic patcher or any 'mod' that changes the .exe game file. It is not worth it. A mod should work with a clean install of the actual game. Just my thoughts.
I think you are the only one to think a this.
Without TDW patch this game is unplayable..
__________________
Parked under the balcony with my U-27 waiting Juliet finish makeup
hauangua is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mods , solution , steam

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim