SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations!

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

I need forum nicknames for: Pavel Sar____, Sascha Rie____, Joseph Buc____, so I can upgrade your account. PM me. -- Neal Stevens

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2012, 11:48 AM   #1
Dogfish40
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LA Area, Central coast, California
Posts: 1,011
Downloads: 725
Uploads: 0
Default Soundguy problem w Mods

Ahoy Kaleuns,
Gotta'nother issue with the sound portion of this. I started a new career over the weekend and even did the training mission so I could start the game with around 7 ships sunk. When doing this (with no mods of course) I noticed my soundman called out approaching ships with some degree of detail . When I put the mods back in, the soundguy doesn't say anything, ever.
As far as Crew and command mods go, I use Mighty fine crew, More Crew Commands, The Mighty fine crew patch and less annoying feetsteps, and I use the DBSM sound mods. Plus TDW's UI, FX, IRAI and....oh what the heck ....Here....


This list is a bit old but basically it's the same...

One question I have is; Can I use sobers "realistic hydrophone operator" mod as a possible fix without screwing something else up (New UI's, Crew Commands ect).
The other question is that I know that this problem is not new; does anyone else have a solution to get the soundman talking again whilst keeping the pertinent mods for sound and the crew .
Any help will be appreciated, I like the way the soundman works in the game and now that I know it's there, I would really like to try and get it to work.
Thanks Again
D40
__________________
Dogfish40
Dogfish40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 11:56 PM   #2
Kark
Swabbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hanover, Germany
Posts: 15
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 0
Default

I've also replied to your other post.
Had the same issue. Solution:

1.Disable everything releated to sound( Dynamic Environment Sound, MFCM, MCCD etc.
2. Enable Dynamic Environment Sound and everything related to sound
3. Enable MFCM
4. Enable MCCD 1.04 MFCM compatible LAST

Did the trick for me. For you as well?
__________________
" It's coming right for us!!!"

Uncle Jimbo
Kark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 01:50 PM   #3
Hector McLean
Sea Wolf
 
Hector McLean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: East Coast - UK
Posts: 69
Downloads: 803
Uploads: 0
Default Hope for advice

Hi

I hope you managed to get your problem fixed but for a matter of interest you have some MODS on your list I have not seen in the SH5 D/L section were abouts did you aquire for example the sound guy hydrophone and 1 or 2 otheres.

thanks
__________________
Capt Schneider U21
For Eval to triumph good men do nothing
For Virtue is mine Honour
Hector McLean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 04:00 PM   #4
sober
Ace of the deep .
 
sober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8,423
Downloads: 767
Uploads: 55


Default

Do you have realistic hydrophone checked or unchecked in the ingame difficulty options .
__________________
Sobers lame old wolf mod or SLOW mod . Motto play it slow with TC low .
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=192374
'' Modders take a bow , silent hunter 5 is awesome . '' sober
sober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 11:14 AM   #5
Dogfish40
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LA Area, Central coast, California
Posts: 1,011
Downloads: 725
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kark View Post
I've also replied to your other post.
Had the same issue. Solution:

1.Disable everything releated to sound( Dynamic Environment Sound, MFCM, MCCD etc.
2. Enable Dynamic Environment Sound and everything related to sound
3. Enable MFCM
4. Enable MCCD 1.04 MFCM compatible LAST

Did the trick for me. For you as well?
Wow, what a trip
I was going to try this for another reason as well. Awhile back I had another problem with MCCD. I'd go to "talk" to say, my watchman to give orders to the navigator and most of the order lines were reduced to just numbers, no orders, just the numbers were in the pop up box. Well, I found out that this was because I had either MCCD 1.04 MFCM or the patch, placed before the upgrades mod.
So, I did get the soundman to start calling out the contacts, but alas I think he's quit again or he's working sometimes. I am going to try just that, so thank you for placing this. It's not only a reminder but you've got a list here which is cool. I might not have done all of these things.
Thanks Loads Kark, I'll post between now and Monday with the results.
Gute Jagd Herr Kaleun!!
__________________
Dogfish40
Dogfish40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 11:19 AM   #6
Dogfish40
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LA Area, Central coast, California
Posts: 1,011
Downloads: 725
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sober View Post
Do you have realistic hydrophone checked or unchecked in the ingame difficulty options .
Hey Sober,
Realistic Hydrophone is unchecked. I didn't want to give it any extra ammunition to screw me up LOL
So, until which time this thing is operating 100% up to at least on par with SH3 & 4, I'll leave realistic Hydrophone unchecked.
Thanks
__________________
Dogfish40
Dogfish40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 10:07 PM   #7
Kark
Swabbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hanover, Germany
Posts: 15
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogfish40 View Post
Thanks Loads Kark, I'll post between now and Monday with the results.
Gute Jagd Herr Kaleun!!
You're welcome!
__________________
" It's coming right for us!!!"

Uncle Jimbo
Kark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2014 Subsim