SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=202)
-   -   SH3 vs SH4? (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=199398)

RedMenace 10-26-12 07:27 PM

SH3 vs SH4?

Which do you prefer? :hmmm:

Sailor Steve 10-26-12 08:02 PM

Both.

Randomizer 10-26-12 09:04 PM

Yes.

RedMenace 10-26-12 09:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sailor Steve (Post 1953109)
Both.

B-b-but that's not a preference! :o

razark 10-26-12 09:10 PM

U-boats: SH3.
Fleet boats: SH4.

The question is "Which is better, u-boats or fleet boats?"
:dead:

RedMenace 10-26-12 09:25 PM

Sorry, I'm a bit new to the mod community, so feel free to rip me a new one, but AFAIK there isn't a single supermod that adds as much to SH4 as the numerous supermods that exist for SH3.

So, I assumed, as far as modders go, some people would have a preference between the two.

CCIP 10-26-12 09:42 PM

I prefer SH4, because it's a much more stable and better-looking engine. Both the Atlantic and Pacific campaigns are covered superbly by mods.

HOWEVER, there is a downside: because far more modders have worked on SH3, there are still a lot of things and features that are not available in SH4. This includes a ton of objects, things like extended interiors, the recent .exe fixes, and perhaps most importantly - SH3 commander. All those things still make SH3 worth keeping. If it was not for that extra modding work, SH4 would be absolutely better than SH3 in all ways.

Sailor Steve 10-26-12 11:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RedMenace (Post 1953119)
B-b-but that's not a preference! :o

Actually it is, because both have much to offer. I would explain further, but CCIP just stole the very words I was going to use. How he did that before I could use them is a mystery for which there is an explanation, but it's one I'm not sure I want to explore.