SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   Helosim.com and Flight Sims (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=216)
-   -   OT: european air war under Win 2000 please help! (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=95111)

Kaleu_Mihoo 06-29-2006 09:56 AM

OT: european air war under Win 2000 please help!
 
Hi all!
I'm a big fan of this forum and I have a big respect for all U modders and your computer skills. That's why I've decided to write this OT thread: I found here a great link how to run silent hunter I under Windows XP, so I wanted to ask you if you could assist me to run my favourite WW2 flight-sim European Air War :hmm: . I've googled the net for information but I couldn't find any suitable solution. And because some of you probably have still this great game and possible Windows 2000 installed I would be very grateful for any hint. My system is Win 2000 service pack 4.

P.S. Please don't torpedo me for this thread, and excuse me for my poor english.

I wish your good hunting and even more great ideas for mods :yep: , which completely change the SH3 experience.

greets

Kaleu_Mihoo

SUBMAN1 06-29-2006 11:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kaleu_Mihoo
Hi all!
I'm a big fan of this forum and I have a big respect for all U modders and your computer skills. That's why I've decided to write this OT thread: I found here a great link how to run silent hunter I under Windows XP, so I wanted to ask you if you could assist me to run my favourite WW2 flight-sim European Air War :hmm: . I've googled the net for information but I couldn't find any suitable solution. And because some of you probably have still this great game and possible Windows 2000 installed I would be very grateful for any hint. My system is Win 2000 service pack 4.

P.S. Please don't torpedo me for this thread, and excuse me for my poor english.

I wish your good hunting and even more great ideas for mods :yep: , which completely change the SH3 experience.

greets

Kaleu_Mihoo

I know it works under Windows XP because I had it running a couple years back. Windows 2000 shouldn't be any different. The only thing I can think of is that compatibility mode doesn't work under 2K where it does under XP.

A possible solution is to do the upgrade to the free WIndows Vista and try that. Your system will continue to work for about a year before you have to buy it. If nbeed be - dual boot it - it should easily dual boot if you have some extr partition space.

-S

-S

Kaleu_Mihoo 06-29-2006 11:42 AM

SUBMAN1, thanks a lot for your quick reply,

well, actually my win 2000 is the problem, when I try to start the game it says : "Sorry,not supported on Windows NT" :damn: . Is Win 2k indeed so much different to XP that I can't run the game on it? Someone please help!!!

P.S. I woludn't install anything more from Mikro Soft, since I bought my last notebook and need to pay for legal copy of XP (which is obvious), but after that found no instalation-cd...There was only an image and until I've formatted the HDD and made new partitions I can't use the greatest soft in the whole universe :rotfl:

I would be really gratefull for any other suggestions.

good hunting!!!

Mihoo

SUBMAN1 06-29-2006 02:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kaleu_Mihoo
SUBMAN1, thanks a lot for your quick reply,

well, actually my win 2000 is the problem, when I try to start the game it says : "Sorry,not supported on Windows NT" :damn: . Is Win 2k indeed so much different to XP that I can't run the game on it? Someone please help!!!

P.S. I woludn't install anything more from Mikro Soft, since I bought my last notebook and need to pay for legal copy of XP (which is obvious), but after that found no instalation-cd...There was only an image and until I've formatted the HDD and made new partitions I can't use the greatest soft in the whole universe :rotfl:

I would be really gratefull for any other suggestions.

good hunting!!!

Mihoo

That is the problem - you need WIn 95/98 compatibility mode. That is an option for XP as you can see here:

http://img504.imageshack.us/img504/3774/dwc5le.jpg

But I don't think Windows 2000 supports this since it was not made to be backwards compatible like XP was. SOmeone may have made a hack for it to do the same thing, but I don't think so.

-S

SUBMAN1 06-29-2006 02:21 PM

Here is something for you to try. Let me know if the 95 mode works or not:

Windows 2000 - Tips & Tricks
How to Enable Application Compatibility-Mode Technology in Windows 2000 Service Pack 2
Compatibility mode provides an environment for running programs that more closely reflects the behavior of either Microsoft Windows 95 or Microsoft Windows NT 4.0. These modes resolve several of the most common issues that prohibit older programs from working correctly with Windows 2000. Programs that experience issues after migration may benefit from being started in one of these compatibility environments.
  • Log on as Administrator,
  • Click Start, and then click Run,
  • In the Open box, type the following command, and then click OK, where %SystemRoot% is the drive and folder in which Windows 2000 is installed: regsvr32 %systemroot%\apppatch\slayerui.dll
Administrators can use a program shortcut to set the compatibility mode for a target program. This requires that the Compatibility-mode properties be correctly installed and registered on the computer by using the previous steps. To enable Compatibility mode by using a program shortcut:
  1. Log on as Administrator,
  2. Right-click the shortcut, and then click Properties,
  3. Click the Compatibility tab. This tab appears only if the Compatibility-mode interface has been properly enabled on the computer,
  4. Click to select the Run in Compatibility Mode check box to enable Compatibility-mode support for the program,
  5. Click either Windows 95 or Windows NT 4.0 compatibility mode in the drop-down box,
  6. Click OK to save the changes,
  7. Double-click the shortcut to run the program.

Kaleu_Mihoo 06-29-2006 04:04 PM

SUBMAN1, I don't know what to say...

I just want to thank you for your last hint.....IT WORKS!!! I have my favourite sim again!!! You must be a magican, aren't you? :up:
Both compatibility modes run well - Win 95 and Win 98 mode.

I think that's just great news for all peoples that want to run older games under 2k.

Once again big thanks and let the Lord reward you by spawning big convoys without escorts infront of your torpedo tubes :yep:

greatfully

Kaleu_Mihoo

SUBMAN1 06-30-2006 12:40 PM

Good to hear! You're welcome!

Kaleu_Mihoo 07-01-2006 03:18 AM

Well, I have got another problem with EAW- the joystick I'm using (Wingman from logitech) is a USB-one and the game doesn't recognize it. I can only use the joy-buttons, but no joy-axis for steering. I also can't activate the joy in game configuration menu :down: Perhaps because the joy is USB and not paralell like the older ones.
Any ideas how to fix it?
thanks for your help
greets,
Mihoo

SUBMAN1 07-01-2006 02:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kaleu_Mihoo
Well, I have got another problem with EAW- the joystick I'm using (Wingman from logitech) is a USB-one and the game doesn't recognize it. I can only use the joy-buttons, but no joy-axis for steering. I also can't activate the joy in game configuration menu :down: Perhaps because the joy is USB and not paralell like the older ones.
Any ideas how to fix it?
thanks for your help
greets,
Mihoo

I think I saw a program out there a while back that resolved this type of issue. I'll take a look to see if i can still find it.

If you're interested, I still have a Thrustmaster FLCS, and TQS I might part with for the right price. If you have an ASUS board or Gigabyte board, chances are is you still have a 15 pin gameport adapter on it, and if not, you can buy one to attack to your MB header. Also, there are still a ton of soundcards that still have the 15 pin gameport on them. Just thinking.

-S

Kaleu_Mihoo 07-02-2006 03:21 AM

thanks again, SUBMAN1!

the problem is, i'm playing on my notebook (with only USB connections) , so any hardware changes are out of question. I'll be gratefull when you could find the program that solves this USB- joy -problem, that's the only way I could fix it, I think...

thanks for Your help

mihoo

SUBMAN1 07-02-2006 11:05 AM

I don't see any reason why your joystick should not work. Just to be sure, I read up on people with EAW and USB joysticks and theirs are working fine, just throttle issues with some people.

Some joysticks require drivers to function properly. Did you install the drivers for your joystick?

-S

This thread has some feedback that might help you:

http://forums.frugalsworld.com/vbb/s...ad.php?t=17751

They talk about re-installing sound drivers as a fix for their USB joystick problems. I am not sure why this may work, but maybe it wakes up direct X. One post in particular also seems to stand out:

Hi Paul,
Me again, with more suggestions!
Re install DirectX --- whatever version you're using.
Go to the Device Manager on your computer, then go to the "Properties" of your USB devices, and at least " re-point" your USB devices ( joystick etc ) to the Microsoft drivers. I suppose to be even more sure, remove the "offending" item ---- reboot and Windows will re-install the drivers for you.
Hope this might work for you!!
Tinturkey.

Detritus 07-02-2006 01:23 PM

Subman1 is probably right about DirectX. It usually is a culprit when my stick isn't working properly. Either that or lousy drivers. But you'd also might check this place out and ask there. They know absolutely everything EAW related. Don't forget to check sandbaggers links and stuff.

http://www.simhq.com/simhq3/sims/boa...bb=forum;f=143

merlinsmagic 08-02-2006 05:34 AM

xp
 
hi i also am having problems running eaw on xp have tried using the compatability thingy like u said above but still wont work keeps saying error num 7217..game loades on computer ok just want run..:damn:

SUBMAN1 08-02-2006 12:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by merlinsmagic
hi i also am having problems running eaw on xp have tried using the compatability thingy like u said above but still wont work keeps saying error num 7217..game loades on computer ok just want run..:damn:

You have to go find the executable and click again for WIn 98 compatibility. You only need to do this once though.

-S

merlinsmagic 08-03-2006 05:08 AM

Quote:

You have to go find the executable and click again for WIn 98 compatibility. You only need to do this once though.

-S
whats the executable and where would i find it..thanks


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2018 Subsim