SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SHIII Mods Workshop (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=195)
-   -   Wake appearance (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=233687)

nik112 10-05-2017 05:16 PM

Wake appearance
 
Hi guys
I have a small prob. I added some ships to my sh3 installation and some of them they haven't wake.
What can i do to fix it?

cheers:k_confused:

gap 10-05-2017 06:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nik112 (Post 2517082)
Hi guys
I have a small prob. I added some ships to my sh3 installation and some of them they haven't wake.
What can i do to fix it?

cheers:k_confused:

I think you need to add ShipWake and all the related controllers in new ships' .val file, but wait for some of our ship modelling experts to reply to your question more in detail :salute:

nik112 10-06-2017 12:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gap (Post 2517091)
I think you need to add ShipWake and all the related controllers in new ships' .val file, but wait for some of our ship modelling experts to reply to your question more in detail :salute:

Hi guys
shipwake+controlers where can i find them?

cheers

gap 10-06-2017 02:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nik112 (Post 2517207)
Hi guys
shipwake+controlers where can i find them?

cheers

For a start, open the val file of one of the ships missing their wakes, and compare its content with the one of ships which have working wakes :)

HanSolo78 10-06-2017 02:32 PM

Shipwake node is in every ship .dat and .val file.
Both are "working" together.
In order to get the wake back oben the ship .dat file and the .val file.
The parent ID of the shipwake node in the val file should be the ID from the shipwake node of the .dat file.

nik112 10-06-2017 02:58 PM

Hi Hans
thanks for the reply. i took a look but the id's are different
How can i fix it?

cheers

nik112 10-07-2017 02:06 PM

No one yet???

Kendras 10-07-2017 02:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nik112 (Post 2517237)
i took a look but the id's are different
How can i fix it?

--->

Quote:

Originally Posted by HanSolo78 (Post 2517232)
The parent ID of the shipwake node in the val file should be the ID from the shipwake node of the .dat file.


gap 10-07-2017 02:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nik112 (Post 2517410)
No one yet???

Unfortunately, that's not a simple matter of adding a controller and making it to point to the right parent node. As I said in my previous post, besides the ShipWake controller there are several other controllers which are involved in the overall wake effect, and most of them have many parameters that need to be adjusted for "tailoring" the effect around each ship's hull. Here is an example:

https://i.imgur.com/jrtwsAO.png

All the controllers in the screenshot, except the VisualDamage controller, are wake related. Does the val file of the ship whose wake you are trying to fix/add, look similar to the one above, or it misses some controllers?

Answering your last question:

Quote:

Originally Posted by nik112 (Post 2517237)
Hi Hans
thanks for the reply. i took a look but the id's are different
How can i fix it?

The id's MUST be different, but the parent id of the ShipWake controller in the val file must be identical to the Id of the *_shipWake node in the dat file of the same ship :yep:

padmack 10-08-2017 12:02 PM

I take it messing with the values in the sim and val will not create a Ctd?

gap 10-08-2017 03:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by padmack (Post 2517573)
I take it messing with the values in the sim and val will not create a Ctd?

It could :yep:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2019 Subsim