SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   Helosim.com and Flight Sims (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=216)
-   -   Water Doesnt Look Like Its At 4.... (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=119924)

AFRIKAKORPS 08-05-2007 10:41 PM

Water Doesnt Look Like Its At 4....
 
Well its not really a problem, I just know my water can look nicer I guess. I've gone into the config.ini file and changed the water to 4, but now matter what number its on it always looks the same. Maybe I'm whining? Possibly, I just like my water to look watery I guess. In case you want to know I have a GeForce 8800GTS, so im sure its not my card.

Also I have a weird cut looking thing in the middle of the picture after changing the resolution to 1280x1024.

These are my current config settings:
[Render_DirectX]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=2
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=1
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=1
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=0
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=0
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

HardwareShaders=0

Shadows=1
Specular=3
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=1
Forest=0
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=15
ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.0625
PolygonOffsetUnits=-1.0
Water=4
Effects=2

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=2
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=1
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=1
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=17
Water=4
Effects=2
ForceShaders1x=1

PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

Examples:
http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e2.../untitled1.jpg
http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e2...s/untitled.jpg

Dowly 08-05-2007 11:15 PM

IIRC, the lvl 4 water is broken. Just use the lvl 3 water.

AFRIKAKORPS 08-06-2007 02:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dowly
IIRC, the lvl 4 water is broken. Just use the lvl 3 water.

Thanks Dowly, I've been messing around with some options and IL2 Sturmovik Stab and I finally got the level 4 water I was looking for:D.

Biggles 08-06-2007 02:31 PM

Please tell me, once and for all, how to change this feature?

Dowly 08-06-2007 02:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Biggles
Please tell me, once and for all, how to change this feature?

Play the game in OpenGL mode (change that from the video options), choose perfect land detail from the vid options, quit, go to your IL2 folder, open a file called conf.ini, scroll down till you see openGL settings, then make sure the 'UseHardWareShaders' is '1', then just change the Water=0 to Water=1 or 2 or 3 or 4.

Dowly 08-08-2007 11:08 PM

Apart from the large drop in FPS, what the heck does the dlls do? I see no difference to what I had previously.

Sir Big Jugs 08-08-2007 11:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dowly
Apart from the large drop in FPS, what the heck does the dlls do? I see no difference to what I had previously.

They're only a fix in case you have flickering water. :|\\
Did you back them up before you downloaded? I've managed to "misplace" my original dll's and would need the originals back.:oops:

Dowly 08-08-2007 11:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sir Big Jugs
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dowly
Apart from the large drop in FPS, what the heck does the dlls do? I see no difference to what I had previously.

They're only a fix in case you have flickering water. :|\\
Did you back them up before you downloaded? I've managed to "misplace" my original dll's and would need the originals back.:oops:

Yeh, I packed them up. I'll send them to you when I get off from work. ~5:30PM GMT+2

Sir Big Jugs 08-08-2007 11:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dowly
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sir Big Jugs
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dowly
Apart from the large drop in FPS, what the heck does the dlls do? I see no difference to what I had previously.

They're only a fix in case you have flickering water. :|\\
Did you back them up before you downloaded? I've managed to "misplace" my original dll's and would need the originals back.:oops:

Yeh, I packed them up. I'll send them to you when I get off from work. ~5:30PM GMT+2

OK, 'bout the time I wake up here, should be just in time!:lol:
Thanks in beforehand!

Sir Big Jugs 08-09-2007 07:44 AM

By the way Dowly, how big was the loss in FPS you got?:hmm:

Dowly 08-09-2007 09:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sir Big Jugs
By the way Dowly, how big was the loss in FPS you got?:hmm:

Didnt have FRAPS on at that time, but there certainly was an FPS drop as the game was far from the smoothness it had before I replaced the dlls.

http://rapidshare.com/files/47933942/IL2DLLS.7z.html

Sir Big Jugs 08-09-2007 10:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dowly
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sir Big Jugs
By the way Dowly, how big was the loss in FPS you got?:hmm:

Didnt have FRAPS on at that time, but there certainly was an FPS drop as the game was far from the smoothness it had before I replaced the dlls.

http://rapidshare.com/files/47933942/IL2DLLS.7z.html

THANKS!
One more thing, could you post your conf.ini and system specs? I'm having a severe fps problem, and would like to compare a bit.:damn:

Dowly 08-09-2007 10:54 AM

Quote:

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=1
TexCompress=1
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=0
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=1
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=15
Water=4
Effects=2
ForceShaders1x=0

System specs:

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.48GHz
2GB of RAM
Club3D Geforce 8800GTS 320mb
Windows XP


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2018 Subsim