PDA

View Full Version : What are we guessing the specs will be?


TDK1044
07-31-2006, 08:10 AM
Just for fun, let's see how close we are to the spec requirements released for the game in about 8 months. My guess would be:

P4 2.0 GHz processor or higher
1 GIG of RAM
Video memory 128MB
Pixel Shader 2.0
DVD ROM 8X
Latest version of DirectX (probably on the disk)

Drebbel
07-31-2006, 08:21 AM
For SHIII it was:

Supported OS: Windows® 2000/XP (only)
Processor: Pentium® III 1.4 GHz or AMD Athlon™ 1.4 GHz (Pentium 4 2.0 GHz or AMD Athlon 2.0 GHz recommended)
RAM: 512 MB
Video Card: 64 MB (128 MB recommended) DirectX® 9-compliant graphics card (see supported list*)
Sound Card: DirectX 9-compliant PCI card
DirectX Version: 9.0 (included on disc)
DVD-ROM: 4X or better (DVD only)
Hard Drive Space: 1.5 GB free

You are making quite a leap for the RAM, from 512 to 1 Gb. I personally think that will not happen. But must admit I already needed 1 G to run SHIII a litle bit smooth.

I think a slow DVD player will also be good enough because for SHIII the DVD was only used to see if you had a legit version. Atleast as far as I know.

What is your guestimate for required harddisk space ?

TDK1044
07-31-2006, 08:50 AM
Hi Drebbel,

I made the RAM jump because, if you remember, a few months before the release of SH3, the specs were quoted as 256MB RAM required and 512MB recommended. By the time of the release, 512MB was the minimum and 1 GIG recommended. Also, as you rightly say, you really need 1 GIG of RAM to run SH3 smoothly. I agree with you about the slower DVD. My guess for required Hard disk space would be 2.0 GB free.

Godalmighty83
07-31-2006, 11:20 AM
with a high TC rate i would recommend 2 gigs of ram personaly, but i think the box is going to say 1 gig.

Safe-Keeper
07-31-2006, 11:21 AM
If they make the landscape graphics look better, recommended RAM is going to be increased even further (I hope there'll be some graphic options if the looks of the game are improved).

Processor power might be increased a little, too.

TDK1044
07-31-2006, 11:32 AM
Yeah, but if they push the minimum RAM requirement higher than 1 GIG they'll lose sales big time. Most people out there are not hard core simmers and they are not going to upgrade their RAM to facilitae the requirements of a new game. Forum users here...sure..but 90 percent of the market no way. So I think they'll make it work with 1 GIG and recommend higher.

gdogghenrikson
08-01-2006, 01:10 AM
my guess is "more requirements then I have/can afford to upgrade or buy

Drebbel
08-01-2006, 03:55 AM
my guess is "more requirements then I have/can afford to upgrade or buy

Just start saving up a couple of $ a day. You will be surprised how fast it grows.

Rilder
08-01-2006, 04:24 AM
hope they dont up the RAM requirements to much... I'm running 1.5 gigs and my slots are full :rotfl: hopefully the graphics dont go up to much, and 256 will still be recomended, and hopfully processer speed reqs dont go up... im just borderline on recomended... and processers are expensive! (AMD rules btw)

TDK1044
08-01-2006, 05:46 AM
I hear you, Rilder. Bear in mind, this is all speculation. They might come back with the same specs as SH111. If you have 1.5 GIGs of RAM, a video card with 256MB of on board memory, and a processor powerful enough to drive SH111, you'll be fine.

Rilder
08-01-2006, 04:09 PM
I hear you, Rilder. Bear in mind, this is all speculation. They might come back with the same specs as SH111. If you have 1.5 GIGs of RAM, a video card with 256MB of on board memory, and a processor powerful enough to drive SH111, you'll be fine.

cool... so hopefully I wont have to go broke, well i already am but:rotfl:

bookworm_020
08-01-2006, 07:39 PM
Hey, I would just like a computer to run it on, as my new workplace has the computers locked so I can't load SHIII on them, despite the computers being powerful enough.:shifty:

My Sub is in Dry dock untill I get a computer to run it, but with a new commander in my life (Girlfriend) money has redirected to higher value projects...;)