PDA

View Full Version : First warship and first ramming

Evil Duckie
08-04-05, 03:40 PM
Finished a nice patrol...

Out of Brest, January 1941. Type VIIB. Ordered to go to AM14. I'm a noob, so I play at 34% realism (hides in corner of shame)

On the outbound journey, a Tribal destroyer surprised me. It was as if it came out of nowhere, even though it was broad daylight and clear skies. I started taking damage all of a sudden... Turned towards it, went to periscope depth. It crossed in front of my bow at about 800 meters. Fired 2 torpedo's (separately, no salvo). First one a near miss, second one hit it in the bow. Went straight to the bottom.

Continued to my patrol grid. Encountered a trawler there. Didn't want to waste a torpedo, so I tried to use the gun. Seas were too rough. Got frustrated, tried to sail away. Damn thing was on a parallel course, about 1000 meters away from me. Flank speed, went towards it. Tried to ram it, just for the sake of it. Mind you, the Tribal had already brought my hull to 65%...

Hit the trawler in the stern. Started a fire and list, I sustained no damage. Tried to get around for a second ram, but it eventually sank.

Patrolled my grid for 48 hours, decided to head back home via the Irish coast. Night encounter with a C3, took 3 torpedo's. Continued along the coast. Night encounter with a C-class destroyer, evaded it.