PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here, have a few questions

sickpeople
11-18-14, 05:42 AM
First of all, I want to say hi to all members of this great community! Been lurking here for a while.
I'm pretty new to sub sims, just started playing them recently after seeing a let's play on youtube. I like simulators though I'm pretty bad at them and I've always been intrigued by the naval aspect of WW2.
I'm on my first patrol in the SH4. Started as a Porpoise class sub in the Pearl. My first objective was to patrol Japan - Singapore/Luzon shipping lines. After spending a quite amount of time getting there (Pacific is a big ocean) and patrolling for 2 weeks, I haven't seen any enemy ships. I'm using RSRDC mod.
I could go back to Pearl and report my dry patrol but I'm afraid that when returning to Pearl, I won't be able to end the patrol since I haven't finished the mission objective. Also which torpedoes are the best to use early in the war? M14 is known to be useless at the beginning at the war due to the huge amount of malfunctions and M10 lacks the punch to kill off bigger ships, am I right?
TL : DR Can't find convoys, can I end my patrol without any ships sunk and still continue my career?

razark
11-18-14, 08:27 AM
Also which torpedoes are the best to use early in the war?
MK10s are going to be more reliable. They may have a smaller punch, but if the MK14 doesn't reach the target or doesn't explode, the MK10 still wins out. You can use the MK14. Set it to run shallow, set it to contact, and fire for a 45 degree torpedo track angle.

Can't find convoys, can I end my patrol without any ships sunk and still continue my career?
Yes, you can. One bad patrol won't mess you up too bad.

Aktungbby
11-18-14, 09:55 AM
sickpeople! :Kaleun_Salute:

Jimbuna
11-18-14, 10:06 AM
Welcome to SubSim :sunny:

THEBERBSTER
11-18-14, 05:11 PM
A warm welcome ‘sickpeople’ to the Subsim family.:subsim:

You will always find someone here to help you.:)

Link to my SH3 – SH4 – SH5 posts::salute: