PDA

View Full Version : SH IV Newbie- best SHIV mod IYO

ksbearski
08-05-12, 11:09 AM
Hello, I'm new to subsim, have lurked awhile, now posting this informal poll.

I enjoyed an SH 3 campaign using the Greywolves mod, want to solicit some recommendations for a mega mod for SH IV...

Thanks ahead of time for all opinions given.

ksbearski

Hylander_1314
08-05-12, 12:56 PM
Well, there's 5 mega mods out now as it is, and a couple add ons that go over the top of them for game improvement, and or historical gameplay.

If you have an idea for a megamod, go for it! Make it what you think it should be, since that is what mods usually do. They emulate what the author thinks it should have been like.

sharkbit
08-06-12, 12:59 PM
Welcome aboard! :salute:

All of the super-mods have their own flavor. You'll just have to sample them yourself and decide which one you like best. I don't think you can go wrong with any of them.

I've played both TMO and RFB(Both with RSRD campaign mod) and both are excellent, although I lean more toward TMO. Ducimus(the creator of TMO) designed his mod to push you toward acting like a real submarine captain would. Some items might not be strictly "realistic" but they may make you, as sub commander, behave in a "realistic" matter, if that makes sense.

:)

Shredd27
08-06-12, 01:45 PM
Welcome aboard ksbearski! :salute: You've found a group of very cool and helpful sibsimmers here. I recently installed and modded my copy of SH4 myself and due to the help I received here I'm now happily putting my share of Japanese ships on the bottom.