PDA

View Full Version : 'The General'

gavain2
12-16-11, 06:26 PM
if there are any old lags like myself who have fond memories of Avalon Hill and it's magazine 'The General' I have just found a website which has ALL the 'General' issues on disk for £3.99. I have ordered it even if just to read some of the great games they published, I still have some

Anyone interested let me know If they want the address. It is in the UK

gavain2

Raider M
12-16-11, 08:29 PM
Gavain2,
I would be very interested in ordering four of these. War at Sea, Victory in the Pacific, and many more Avalon Hill games are in my 'bookshelf' right now. In the 80's The General carried many AH game 'variants' that are very difficult to obtain today. Thank you very much for this info.

Sailor Steve
12-16-11, 08:35 PM
Good news! Of course I remember 'The General'. I've been playing tabletop and board wargames since 1977. :sunny:

Torplexed
12-16-11, 11:01 PM
I still have most of my old issues of the General from between 1978 and 1992. :cool: Even though I no longer play the games I still find the historical information useful.

http://pyxis.homestead.com/Generals.jpg

TorpX
12-17-11, 12:53 AM
Yep, I remember those. Still have some of them.

Some of my friends and I used to do the macro-game with Panzer Leader.

WernherVonTrapp
12-17-11, 04:42 AM
:oWow, you're going waaaay back. I used to play those in the early 70s. I had Squad Leader, Panzer Blitz and Panzer Leader:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/7/73/Squad_Leader_game.jpg

http://tonysebooks.com/images/panzerblitz/combined_logo.jpg

I have no recollection of what happened to those games. Don't even remember how they were played. That's how long ago it was.:hmmm:

gavain2
12-17-11, 05:07 AM
Gavain2,