PDA

View Full Version : Course Plotting and Actual Submarine Range

corsair15
10-07-10, 08:16 PM
This is a grievance of mine that I've been dealing with ever since I started playing Silent Hunter 4 on 100% Realism. Basically, I've set up a Tambor Class submarine to run a plotted course for 5,500 Nautical Miles, make ONE 90 Degree turn, and run another 5,500 Nautical miles for a total of 11,000 Nautical miles which is what the manual says the maximum range is for this class.

I set up a course to run from Midway, starting at 177*30'W Long. 28*0'N Lat. on heading 180 Degrees South for 5,500nm. Then at 177*30'W Long. 57* or 58*S Lat. or something like that. I've set a course change 90 Degrees to starboard on heading 270 Degrees extending another 5,500 Nautical miles. I plotted this course specifically so that I wouldn't run into any land. Turning west AFTER the submarine passes New Zealand.

Also, I've set waypoints in my plot for every 5 degrees south and west that the submarine could travel on these two courses. Starting at 25* N Lat. and another at 20*N Lat. and so on and so forth for the entire course.

What I noticed is that the Submarine deviates from my plotted course by one or two minutes of angle for every waypoint. So the conclusion I came to was that the curvature of the simulated planet had something to do with it. What I'm afraid of, is that the boys in my control room aren't exactly following the plotted course as I've set and I'm actually using more fuel to travel to each waypoint because of the deviation.

The reason it's important to me is for specifically that reason. I want to be able to calculate (correctly) how long I can run at certain speeds for a set distance.