PDA

View Full Version : Silent Hunter 5 and the .NET Framework 4.0


Seeadler
05-06-2010, 06:03 PM
*Edit*

Thread title changed!

It's not the .Net 4.0 framework which is cause a CTD after loading in SH5, the new Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable 9.0.30729.4974 runtime files produce this error. These new runtime files could be installed be upcoming Windows apps! Thanks to SubV, who had found that!:up:


Warning: Silent Hunter 5 is not compatible with the. NET Framework 4.0

Today I installed on my gaming/internet PC the new .NET Framework 4.0 because I had to test a .NET 4.0 application for one of my customer on the network and internet.

After the installation, each time SH5 crashes to desktop with an undefined error after the loading screen of a savegame or a single mission. The last thing I could hear was the click-click sound of the SH5 interface, then SH5 crashed. The SH5 museum worked as it should.

After the deinstall of .NET 4.0, SH5 runs again without this error! To proof I installed .NET 4.0 again and the crash to desktop was back, again deinstalled .NET 4.0 and the game starts after loading a game.

I guess it is the IronPython.dll which cause this error because it is also an interface for SH5 to .NET Framework, and this dll is probably no longer compatible with the v4.0 runtime of the Framework

The current IronPython package which is for .NET4.0 was released last month on April 12., perhaps the SH5 project must be compiled/linked with the current libs of this release. No idea whether the new patch also deals with this issue. :hmmm:

severniae
05-06-2010, 06:47 PM
Strange, because I thought that all new versions of dotnet contained backwards compatibility for previous dotnet releases.

Do you get any particular errors with the CTD?

Seeadler
05-06-2010, 08:24 PM
Strange, because I thought that all new versions of dotnet contained backwards compatibility for previous dotnet releases.

.NET yes, all my .NET apps works with also with this new 4.0 release but I assume the IronPython.dll or the IronMath.dll used by SH5 did not ;)

The devs of IronPython released a newer version last month which has the compatibility with 4.0


April 12, 2010
IronPython 2.6.1 Final (http://ironpython.codeplex.com/releases/view/36280) was released, supporting both .NET 2.0 SP1 and .NET 4.0 RTM.


Do you get any particular errors with the CTD?
No only the a windows message box which tells me that "Silent Hunter 5 no longer works" :doh:

SubV
05-07-2010, 04:58 AM
@Seeadler

Recently, I tried the new Visual Studio 2010 (which is bundled with .NET Framework 4.0 and updated Visual C++ runtime libraries).

I've got the same problem as yours, CTD when loading save game or starting a single mission. So I tried to investigate this problem and finally found what causes the CTD. It's not .NET 4.0 itself, but Visual C++ 2008 redistributable 9.0.30729.4974.

Uninstall it via Control panel, and everything will work fine again.

Seeadler
05-07-2010, 07:28 AM
It's not .NET 4.0 itself, but Visual C++ 2008 redistributable 9.0.30729.4974.
thanks for this info, I will investigate this at the weekend if some of my customers apps also installs these redistributables.

Seeadler
05-07-2010, 09:36 AM
@SubV
You are right, it's the Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable 9.0.30729.4974 that caused the crash. One of the Apps I had to test installed the new runtime files alongside to the .Net 4 framework.

harag
05-31-2010, 09:29 AM
HI

I've just been having the crashing problem and after unintalling the c++ file above all worked fine...

The problem is I am planning on getting VS 2010 when it comes out over here in the UK so will the problem return or am I safe to uninstall it again?

Thanks

Decoman
05-31-2010, 11:36 AM
I find NET Framework install packages annoying, because I never know which one is needed, or what update is needed.

kylania
06-09-2010, 09:54 PM
Just bumping this for others since I just got caught by it when I installed VB 2010 Express. Uninstalling Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable 9.0.30729.4974 did magically fix my game.

Trevally.
10-17-2010, 05:40 AM
I am having CTDs that I thought was being caused by an Environment mod even after a fix was posted by ACSoft.

I was then informed about this thread, so I took a look at my C++

I have:-

C++ 2005 ATL update kb973923 - x86 8.0.50727.4053
C++ 2005 Redistributable
C++ 2008 ATL Update kb973924 - x86 9.0.30729.4148
C++ 2008 Redistributable - x86 9.0.30729.17

As you can see I dont have the C++ that is being talked about.
Does anyone know if any of the ones I listed are causing problems?

sober
10-17-2010, 06:04 AM
I have those plus 2 others and dont get ctds .
What are your mods and what computer specs ?

Zedi
10-17-2010, 06:09 AM
Look at the date it got installed, must be the same date with the SH5 install. If ur not sure, just uninstall all C++ and install it again from the SH5 dvd.. I think is inside the support folder. Is pretty anoying as many games and software will install a new version over and over again, so is a major pita to keep this under control all the time.

Trevally.
10-17-2010, 06:17 AM
Thanks Sober, I have :-

Generic Mod Enabler - v2.6.0.157
[C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\MODS]
Critical hits 1.1 Torpedos
Elite German Black & Copper Torpedo
Enhanced FunelSmoke_by HanSolo78
Gisement
Lite Campaign LC 1.2
No Logo Intro Menu_Animation v. 01.00 by AvM
SD_MapCourseLine_tiny_arrows_ocred
Speech fixes and additions (english version)+curch keys
Cerberus62 Additional Merchant Ships 0.9
BRF 1.3 full
Nauticalwolf's_Damage_and_Torpedo_UI(g)_Mod_v1.1
Torpedo_Speed_Abilitie_Fix_for_TDC_SH5_v120
AilImpurity 1.2 light
SKIN_SH5_Type-VIIC_Tornmatte_Coating_Weathered
sobers realistic hydrophone operator SH5
MightyFine Crew Mod 1.2.1 Alt w beards
reaper7's Sky Mod
Radio Stations
SteelViking's Interior Mod V1.2
SUB_hyd_fix_SH5
SubFlags_0_0_5_byTheDarkWraith
U-boat Historical Specifications 1.4
Venatore SFX
FX_Update_0_0_4_ByTheDarkWraith
NewUIs_TDC_4_6_0_ByTheDarkWraith (patched)
NewUIs_TDC_4_6_0_6x_6x_7x_RAOBF_patch
MRP 1.3+OPCF light
EQuaTool 01.01 by AvM - Kriegsmarine Woody Golden Style
Trevally Harbour & Kiel Canal Pilot v2.3
Trevally Automated Scripts
IRAI_0_0_27_ByTheDarkWraith

With this list I get no CTDs. If I add Enviro + fix = CTD


Comp specs:-

Processor: 2CPU 6600 @ 2.40Ghz
Ram: 2GB
System: Vista 32bit
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 8600GTS

Trevally.
10-17-2010, 06:21 AM
Look at the date it got installed, must be the same date with the SH5 install. If ur not sure, just uninstall all C++ and install it again from the SH5 dvd.. I think is inside the support folder. Is pretty anoying as many games and software will install a new version over and over again, so is a major pita to keep this under control all the time.

Thanks Magnum but I dont have a dvd as I downloaded direct from UBI.

I will have a look at the dates:up:

Trevally.
10-17-2010, 06:34 AM
Ok its hard to tell my install dates but game manual was installed 09/03/2010

C++ dates

C++ 2008 ATL Update kb973924 - x86 9.0.30729.4148 (09/03/2010)
C++ 2008 Redistributable - x86 9.0.30729.17 (10/03/2010) removed this one :hmmm:

re-installed mod + fix

Trevally.
10-17-2010, 09:42 AM
Nope - still CTDs

Back to removing the enviro mod.

gutted
10-17-2010, 01:30 PM
The frameworks do not overwrite each other.

Look in /Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/

You will see folders for each version you have.

Newer versions of the framework are indeed backward compatible, but programs will always try to use the version they are compiled for. You can install ALL versions and they will reside side-by-side.

So...

If you feel like it's a newer .NET causing you problems.. make sure you have the one the program actually wants and see if that cures your problem.

Sgt.Sparker
12-26-2010, 02:40 PM
Hello.

My SH5 is crashing to the desktop while loading a saved game or continuing career. (I have only made it back to port from intro-mission)

I have the same C++ stuff as Trevally posted...

C++ 2005 ATL update kb973923 - x86 8.0.50727.4053
C++ 2005 Redistributable
C++ 2008 ATL Update kb973924 - x86 9.0.30729.4148
C++ 2008 Redistributable - x86 9.0.30729.17

... and I uninstalled the bottom two since i thought they might have something to do with the crashing.

I bought SH5 via steam and hopefully they update it for me. I have tried manually downloading patch 1.2 from gamershell but while trying to install, it says it can find no SH5-game installed.

I'm have re-installed the game twice now, (in a somehow desperate attempt to get rid of the crashing), unsuccessfully.

I'm running Windows XP 32-bit, compleatly clean Vanilla SH5 without any mods, and cannot find any trace of .NET framework 4.0 what so ever, on my computer.

How shall i go on?

Thanks for great helping of what I read so far and sorry for bringing an old thread up, but it haven't sorted itself out yet.

Kind regards
/Sparker

sober
12-26-2010, 02:44 PM
What mods ?

Sgt.Sparker
12-26-2010, 02:52 PM
No mods at all, i have just installed it to check it out before going into the world of mods.

Clean Vanilla SH5, crashing at loading screen with the quotes.

*Edit*
Also, i get no error-messages when its crashing. The game just dissapears.

sober
12-26-2010, 03:08 PM
Nope - still CTDs

Back to removing the enviro mod.
I started getting ctds and after i installed NewUIs_TDC_5_9_0_TheDarkWraith patch 2 i dont get them .

Sgt.Sparker
12-27-2010, 11:42 AM
Hello again, I just wanted to say i got it sorted out.

I re-installed graphic and sound drivers (have had problems with the sound before) and re-installed the game. It works fine now without crashes.
Very strange, but whatever works, its fine.

Raven_2012
01-04-2014, 02:30 PM
I know this is an old thread, but its a very important one. I seem to be getting minor crashes with minor mods. I know over the years with other program install they add .Net Framework stuff, I am wondering if any of this would cause problems.

I've deleted to old one that was causing problems years ago.

But I notice this:
http://i1262.photobucket.com/albums/ii605/therealcrow999/Dwm2014-01-0414-20-37-45_zpscd07ad24.png (http://s1262.photobucket.com/user/therealcrow999/media/Dwm2014-01-0414-20-37-45_zpscd07ad24.png.html)

http://i1262.photobucket.com/albums/ii605/therealcrow999/Dwm2014-01-0414-20-44-77_zps9c8f1e57.png (http://s1262.photobucket.com/user/therealcrow999/media/Dwm2014-01-0414-20-44-77_zps9c8f1e57.png.html)

SH5 installed x86 9.0.21022 & x86 9.0.30729.17
while my computer already has x64 versions.

Would these two cause problems with each other?

I want to uninstall the x64 version to see if I wouldn't have problems.