PDA

View Full Version : Radio Reports

Chubster
04-27-10, 08:20 AM
Hi newbie here although not a virgin....sunk my first destroyer with manual settings :yeah:

Anyways....Keep trying to intercept sightings that come in via Radio Report but I am not having any luck. Obviously if they are miles away I do not bother but if they are in the general vacinity I will head in front of there projected path then search the area.

Nothing.....every single time.

So

A) What am I doing wrong
B) Are these Radio Reports even worth listening too

Sammi79
04-27-10, 09:41 AM
Just keep trying you will catch one eventually. There are many reasons why you would miss them, course changes, variable speeds etc... let alone the fact that the ocean is big and you have to be within about 10-15 miles to see them (in daytime good weather). You can hear quite a lot further underwater on your hydrophones I think maybe upto 30-40 miles?

If you get where you think they should be and you can't hear or see them, try to take into account shipping routes i.e where would they be going that may give you a clue. Sometimes you might be in the right place just arrived too quick, in which case you should wait, other times they might have increased their speed to 20+ Knts and left you in their wake.

I remember it took a while but eventually I caught one, from there you just get better at judging where they are going (to be) and it becomes easier.;)

Chubster
04-27-10, 09:55 AM
Cheers sammy....at least I know I am doing the right thing now :)

KlassenT
04-27-10, 12:04 PM
The only real suggestion I have is to put together some 'what if' scenarios for intercepts; for example, I'll usually consider...