PDA

View Full Version : Possible ship mod, need some input

Decoman
02-28-10, 04:11 PM
I am able to model anything really, and I thought it would be fun to at least get started on a possible ship mod (adding ship). And I hope that people have some ideas that they don't mind sharing with me.

What I had in mind here, was to get some ideas for specific ships, and then I would try to gather reference material and start to set up for modeling.

To be honest, I have little knowledge about modding, though I do not see any issue preventing me from starting to think about this.

Possible issues:
• Polygon count
• Special polygon mesh topological requirements, like triangulation and whatnot
• Level of display? I.e several versions of the same ship with different polycounts.
• Limitations and requirement on texturing work

Outside this scope:
• Conversion, animation and anything that is not modeling and texturing.

If anyone has a knowledge about a specific shipname or class/type, I would be happy to try look for reference materials. I just don't like starting off from scratch with no idea at all what ships might be plausible to include.

a) Background ships, used for decoration:
• Ships in harbour, probably non-sinkable ships in friendly harbour
• Possibly some structure located on land
• Tanker?
• Sailing ship?
• Tugboat?
• Yacht?

or

b) Warships and whatnot:
• Any warship really :)
• Any other ship

It would be important to start of with a specific idea, and not just conjuring some fantasy ship. I hate doing modeling without at least a minimum of reference material.

Nisgeis
02-28-10, 04:30 PM
Poly count, topological requirements, Level of Display? (Level of Detail / LoD?) and Texture limits will all be made clear when we have the game and can look at the in game units.

cardiff
03-02-10, 09:24 PM