PDA

View Full Version : Something amazing happened

reddogut
01-26-10, 01:16 PM
I am not sure if this is somewhere I could talk/brag/cry about my patrols. If not let me know. :yeah:

I am fairly new to subsim.

I started my first American Career and was out on my first patrol from PH to drop off a spy at Muroran. About 350 miles out from Muroran I ran across 2 destroyers and a small gun boat. I went to PD and periodically popped up my scope to manuever into a 90 degree torpedo shot on the lead destroyer.

I was in position for what I thought was going to be a perfect 600 or 700 yard 90 degree shot. I flooded tubes 1 and 2 and popped up the scope and was quite shocked to see the lead destroyer 90 degrees off my port side at no more that a couple hundred yards and she was steaming hard.

I thought for sure I was dead. I paniced and threw the sub into flank speed and ordered a crash dive. The destroyer passed no more than what looked like a couple dozen feet (but was probably more like a couple dozen yards) off my stern and dropped her charges. But apparently they set the charges too deep because when they went off it rocked the sub pretty good, but no damage at all. Other than having to change my shorts, I got away completely unscathed.

-Mike

SteamWake
01-26-10, 01:23 PM
Yup pay attention to the targets course and speed through the hydrophones. If you hear them alter course and suddenly jump to flank youve been 'spotted' time to get the hell outa there.

How long did it take you to get away?

Oh... by the way... If you really want to 'role play' the mission usually inserting agents took precident over tonnage on the way there. Of course after he is 'safely' inserted feel free to blast away :salute:

Of course the game doesent make this distinction but ... well orders are orders ;)

Oh and welcome to subsim !

Armistead
01-26-10, 01:39 PM