PDA

View Full Version : Some questions from someone without sea legs.

CanadianMinnow
01-30-09, 01:41 AM
Hello people of Subsim.

As you can probably see this is my first post here but hopefully it wont be my last.

I have been strolling(not trolling) through your site for the last couple days as a guest and have decided to go ahead and register. Now when I mean by "someone without sea legs” is that I do not own any of the Silent Hunter games but have been thinking about going out and getting the SH4 Gold Edition(expansion and stuff extra with it)

Now what I wanted to ask is that, I don't have any naval background infact my only military like experience was with Air Cadets way back in the day. Now how did I become interested in this game? Well I have a passion for WW2 sims be it TAOW or the Combat Mission series plus I've watched a friend play a previous installment and up until now I have never investigated the series. Now since I have no background in sea.."goings" is this game going to be to hard for me to get into? I have no problem with a learning curve but is it going to be overwhelming at times? or does the game do a good job of explaining stuff to you. I've watched some videos of it on Youtube and it does look like a game I would like to get into but those people who made the videos look like they know what their doing as well :03: Plus one other thing is I read alot about how some people consider SH3 a better game then SH4 but since I have never played any of the other games, does it matter that I start with SH4?

Anyways I know thats a bunch of questions to ask right off the bat on my first post however if I do get this game I know I'll be returning to this forum day after day.

Thanks for any help or information you can provide and I hope to be talking with some of you soon.

A Very Super Market
01-30-09, 01:45 AM