PDA

View Full Version : New Skipper needs help.

mcf1
09-07-08, 05:46 AM
Hi there.
I'm pretty new in SH4 and I have a problem with some damage.

To make it short. I got damaged after an encounter with a task force, the rudder transmission is damaged, along with a stern tube, both of them are now in the repair priority window and when I drag the mouse over the bar next to them it reads: 0.44 for the torp. tube and 0.73 for the rudder transmission so they can be repaired right?

I activated the damage control crew of and after 10-12 in game hours I check on the damage again but there is no progress made, the bars still read 0.44 and 0.73.
What am I doing wrong?

My sub is stationary and surfaced, I filled all the DC crew slots, and I activated them
Can I repair that damage, if yes then how?

Thanks in advance

Mush Martin
09-07-08, 05:54 AM
I believe that.
some damage is repaired at reduced function.
ie. limited slow rudder response vs. full swing normal rudder
response, so the idea is that not all damage can be one hundred
percent repaired at sea. some things need a shore facility to
fix fully.

at a guess anyway surely someone will be along with a better
defined answer.
M

Diopos
09-07-08, 06:22 AM
The way I see it as long as the "damage bar" is not 100%, the damage is repairable at sea. Maybe I'm wrong.
Is your Damage Control crew suffering from low efficiency or even more "asleep"?
Sometimes I order "General Quarters", you know extra hands in the damaged stations to facilitate repairs/maintenance. Sometimes I think it helps but I won't put my hand on the bible on that!

Seminole
09-07-08, 08:50 AM
:hmm: ....I've never had to "activate" damage control. NOPE :nope: If an item were repairable then my crews have always gone ahead and fixed whatever needed fixing, own their own initiative, without me having to do a thing...even with no crew in damage control. :shifty: