Mikhayl
08-05-08, 02:45 PM
---

lucagaeta
08-05-08, 04:31 PM
:D very nice work:rock:

Xantrokoles
08-07-08, 03:11 PM
I don't know a lot of people who are able to work on this claas of 3d modelling.
But nice you have uploaded it.:up:

Buster_Dee
08-09-08, 08:01 PM
I'd like to play with your Type II a bit. I've been putzing with modelling/texturing for about 3 years. Self-taught, and huge gaps in my basic understanding. I have Lightwave (which still has me confounded) and a couple of cheapy programs (3DC for a modelling, and UU3D for mapping). To be honest, I don't even know how you pull the pieces into a whole model. I'm guessing you don't merge everything. Can you give me a dumbed-down version of how you would have proceeded next?

I'm buried in making a B24 cockpit for a Targetware mod at the moment, but subs are a nagging topic for me, and this is very impressive.

Do you know if SH4 uses bump maps? Some of those details (e.g., the door rivets) might be done that way.

skwasjer
08-10-08, 06:46 AM
Edit : for Skwas' if you read this, out of curiosity : If you use the "obj+2nd channel uvw" import method, you can move the object around the scene, do the lightmap, save it individually as uvw and import it along the original non-moved object (you don't export the object used to make the 2nd channel).
When you use the "obj+2nd channel obj", can you also move that 2nd object around and export it as is (ie offsetted) or do you need to have the 1st & 2nd channel obj's on the exact same positionning in the 3D studio ?
If I've read correctly, S3D only imports the texture coordinates of the 2nd object anyway so it shouldn't care if the object is offsetted and maybe even with a different shape (but same vertex count etc) ?