PDA

View Full Version : Mod rating? Must have mods?

epaga
04-27-07, 11:02 AM
Hi all,
Being a total noob to the whole scene, I must admit, it's pretty overwhelming looking at that whopping list of mods in the sticky thread. I can't help wondering if some sort of database wouldn't help where mods could be categorized and rated.

For example, I'd love a few mods to make the Destroyer AI a bit tougher, add some nice little tools to the map, and add other little realism tidbits. I'm sure some of those mods do exactly that. But it seems it'd take quite a while to work and try through that list.

So I guess I have two questions:

1) Have you all thought about having a mod database with categories / tags and a rating system? Is it just too much work to do or is there a different reason you're working with a sticky thread which needs to be maintained all the time?

2) Working with what we have, what are a few mods for SH4 you'd say are arguably "must have" when looking for a more realistic, immersive, and slightly tougher experience?

Edit
Whoops, I just noticed this probably belongs in the mod forum. Sorry...please relocate as necessary. :oops:

VonBlade
04-27-07, 11:09 AM
Must haves. Hmm. Personally :

FlavoredToTaste 2.3.
OaksHudGauges.
Pull Down Pacific Map.
Balao Hi-Res 1.1
Sky Environment Option 4.

I also run Improved Ammo Mod and Torpedo Damage 1.5x. But that's just me.
VB

SteamWake
04-27-07, 12:12 PM
Patch 1.2 :up:

Everything else is enhancements.

Only mods I run is the green button mod, limited radio contacts, and bearing tool.

Scoochy
04-27-07, 12:23 PM
I'm a smoker, so decent smoke means alot to me :yep:
Hence, why I slowed it down. Smoke Mod V3 is a must for me, on the eye candy side that is.

Quillan
04-27-07, 12:23 PM
Green button is a must have. You may also want the mod that puts the Silent Running and Battle Stations buttons in every toolbar.