PDA

View Full Version : Game loading times issue

pdglock19
04-26-07, 11:46 PM
Im new to the SH series and SH4 is awesome. I m wondering if I could do something to shorten the insane long loading times, especially when it says "Please wait". I have a P4 with 7800GS video and 1.5MB of RAM. I takes 10 minutes just to load a game!! All my other games, like HL2, load much faster. Thanks.:D

maerean_m
04-27-07, 12:09 AM
The "Please wait" message duration depends on how long the patrol is.

On an AMD 3200+, it stays for 45 seconds to load a 2 week, 40k tons, patrol.

How long is your patrol for the load to take 10 minutes?

DocDarm
04-27-07, 06:54 PM
I have the same issue. My loading time is near ten minutes. I started at PH with a Gato, went to the South China Sea, topped off my tanks and reloaded torps with the Aussies, and am now back enroute towards Japan to Midway. INSANE load time. I can't just boot the game up to check my patrol time...I have to schedule time to play this game since it'll take 10-15 minutes to get into it. Bad.

EDIT: AMD 64 3200+, 2 GB RAM, GeForce 7800 GS

DocDarm
Fort Lauderdale

SteamWake
04-27-07, 07:55 PM
You wouldent happen to have added the bearing tool mod would you ?

When I added that in my load times doubled.

DocDarm
04-27-07, 08:02 PM
I am running no mods at all. Did clean install with immediate patch to 1.2.

DocDarm
Fort Lauderdale

d@rk51d3
04-27-07, 08:10 PM
Any antivirus / antispyware running in the background? This can be a killer for me.

I believe some security software in particular can rob you of alot of resources.

swash
04-27-07, 08:32 PM
For me, each save game of a career patrol takes longer to load. Like maerean_m said, the longer the patrol the longer the load.

Traveling from Pearl to the East China Sea and then down to the Luzon Straits and back is the longest patrol I've gone on so far. I had 5 saves over 3 days worth of playing and the last loadup was over 5 minutes, almost close to 10 minutes but I didn't time it.