PDA

View Full Version : Signature Help

HowieWowie
06-12-17, 07:12 PM
I'm new to Subsim's and I'm trying to get some understanding of the data displayed in the Signature tab. I've read the manual but it's not much help.

For your Ownship values for MF Active, LF MF Passive and VLF LF Towed are given. What's the meaning of a negative number? Positive number?

For the Contact we values for MF Active and LF MF Passive.

I'd like to read up or learn how to use these values in practice. Any suggestions please and thanks!

Jace11
06-12-17, 07:27 PM
As I understand it ownship values state the returns you are getting (or would get for your active sonar if you choose to use it) from the designated contact you have selected to each of your sonar arrays. A negative number means that sonar returns are being drowned out by background noise - for instance if you are at high speed, the numbers will decrease. You want high positive numbers across the board. Masking your towed array from the target will also be visible as its value will decrease if you point your bow at the contact.

The values listed by the contact represent his ability to detect you, i.e you know what ship it is, so you know what kind of sonars it has if you have classified your contact correctly. You then want to keep these numbers negative meaning he cant hear you. If you get behind them or they are moving as high speed you'll see there numbers drop drastically to -50, -50 meaning he is as deaf as a post! More typically you'll see -10 or less when you first see a contact but I think they still have a chance to hear you if you do something like cavitate, fire a weapon etc. Generally if the numbers start to go positive as you close, you are in danger of being detected.

HowieWowie
06-12-17, 07:41 PM
Jace11 thank you for the explanation, very helpful!!

FPSchazly
06-12-17, 08:51 PM